Last updated : Saturday, 13 April 2024


The Birkenhead Sunday League is an amateur football league based in Birkenhead, Merseyside, England. It was founded in 1920 and currently consists of 36 teams playing in three divisions.

The league is affiliated to the Liverpool County Football Association and uses the FA's standard rules of association football. Matches are played on Sunday afternoons at various grounds in Birkenhead and the surrounding area.

Birkenhead Sunday League action

The league's current champions are Dock AFC, who won the Premier Division title in the 2022-23 season.


The Birkenhead Sunday League was founded in 1920 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league initially consisted of just 12 teams, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has over 30 teams.

Birkenhead Sunday League match

The league has been won by a number of different clubs over the years, but Dock AFC are the most successful team, having won the title 14 times.

The league has also produced a number of professional footballers, including former Liverpool and England striker Robbie Fowler.

Current season

Birkenhead Sunday League teams

The current season of the Birkenhead Sunday League is the 2022-23 season. The Premier Division is currently being led by Dock AFC, followed by Rivacre FC and The Lukes FC.

The league's other two divisions are Division One and Division Two. Division One is currently being led by New Ferry Rangers, followed by Wirral Athletic and West Kirby United. Division Two is currently being led by Feeneys FC, followed by Oxton Celtic and Parkgate St Germain.


Birkenhead Sunday League coaches

Featured Divisions

  • Birkenhead Sunday League Three


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

  • Bedford


    Rock Ferry, England

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia