Last updated : Wednesday, 29 November 2023

Champion's Shield

The Champion's Shield is an amateur football league that is played in a variety of countries around the world. The league is open to all players who are not professional footballers.


The Champion's Shield was first played in 1903 as a match between the FA Cup finalists and the Football League champions. The match was originally called the Charity Shield, but it was renamed the Champion's Shield in 1923.

Champion's Sheild action

The Champion's Shield has been played every year since 1903, except for during World War I and World War II. The current champions are Arsenal, who defeated Chelsea in the 2023 final.


The Champion's Shield is a single-match competition. The two teams that play in the final are the FA Cup champions and the Football League champions.

Champion's Sheild match

The match is usually played at Wembley Stadium in London. However, it has also been played at other stadiums, such as Old Trafford and Villa Park.


  • Arsenal (24 titles)
  • Manchester United (12 titles)
  • Liverpool (8 titles)
  • Chelsea (8 titles)
  • Manchester City (6 titles)


Featured Teams

  • Hardy fc

    Hardy fc

    Newmarket, England

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia