Last updated : Tuesday, 20 February 2024

Colchester & District Sunday League

The Colchester & District Sunday League is an amateur football league based in Colchester, Essex, England. It was founded in 1921 and currently has 60 clubs competing in 10 divisions.


The Colchester & District Sunday League was founded in 1921 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league started with just 10 clubs, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has over 60 clubs.

Colchester & District Sunday League action

The league has been home to some notable players over the years, including former England internationals Micky Quinn and Paul Merson.


The Colchester & District Sunday League is divided into 10 divisions: Premier Division, Division One, Division Two, Division Three, Division Four, Division Five, Division Six, Division Seven, Division Eight, Division Nine, and Division 10.

Colchester & District Sunday League match

The teams in each division play each other twice, once at home and once away. The top two teams in each division at the end of the season are promoted to the next division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the next lower division.

Cup competitions

The Colchester & District Sunday League also runs a number of cup competitions, including the Arthur Boswell Cup, the George Edwards Cup, and the Colchester & District Sunday League Cup.

Colchester & District Sunday League teams

The Arthur Boswell Cup is the league's premier cup competition and is open to all teams in the league. The George Edwards Cup is a knockout cup competition for teams in Divisions One and Two. The Colchester & District Sunday League Cup is a knockout cup competition for teams in Divisions Three to Ten.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia