Last updated : Sunday, 31 March 2024

Development Football League

The Development Football League (DFL) is an amateur football league in the United States. It was founded in 2017 as a developmental league for college football players who are not drafted by the NFL. The DFL has teams in 10 states, and its season runs from June to August.


The DFL was founded in 2017 by former NFL player Brian Woods. Woods was inspired to create the league after seeing the success of the Canadian Football League's (CFL) developmental league, the Canadian Football League (CFL)'s practice roster players.

Development action

The DFL's inaugural season featured eight teams. The league expanded to 10 teams in 2018, and it is expected to continue to grow in the coming years.


The DFL's rules are similar to those of the NFL. However, there are a few key differences. For example, the DFL's games are shorter, lasting only two halves of 25 minutes each.

Development match

The DFL also has a stricter policy on ineligible players. Players who have been drafted by the NFL are not allowed to play in the DFL.



This article was sourced from the following websites:

Development teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia