Last updated : Wednesday, 22 November 2023

FA Women's National League

The FA Women's National League (FAWNL) is a group of six football divisions in England. It is the third and fourth tiers of the women's football pyramid, below the FA Women's Super League and the Women's Championship.


The FAWNL was founded in 1991 as the WFA National League. It was renamed the FA Women's Premier League in 1997. In 2014, the league was restructured and rebranded as the FAWNL.


FA Women's National League action

The FAWNL consists of two tiers: the Northern Premier Division and the Southern Premier Division. Each division is further divided into two groups of 12 teams. The top teams from each group at the end of the season are promoted to the next tier, while the bottom teams are relegated to the next tier.

There are also four regional divisions in the FAWNL: Division One North, Division One Midlands, Division One South East, and Division One South West. These divisions are all at the fourth tier of the women's football pyramid.

Cup competitions

FA Women's National League match

The FAWNL also has two cup competitions: the FA Women's National League Cup and the FA Women's National League Plate. The FAWNL Cup is contested by all teams in the FAWNL, while the FAWNL Plate is contested by teams in the regional divisions.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

FA Women's National League teams come from

  • Hounslow Central,
  • Manchester,
  • Wimbledon,

and other areas within Greater London.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia