Last updated : Tuesday, 28 November 2023

The First Division football league

The Football League First Division was a division of the Football League in England from 1888 until 2004. It was the top division in the English football league system from the season 1888–89 until 1991–92, a century in which the First Division's winning club became English football champions.


The First Division was founded in 1888, along with the Second Division, as part of the Football League. The inaugural season consisted of 12 clubs, and the first champions were Preston North End. The First Division grew over the years, and by the 1950s it had expanded to 22 clubs. In 1981, the Football League changed the scoring system from two points for a win to three points. This led to a more competitive league, and the number of clubs in the First Division was reduced to 20 in 1992.

First Division action

In 1992, the top 22 clubs in the First Division broke away from the Football League to form the Premier League. The Premier League was a breakaway league, and it was not affiliated with the Football League. The First Division was renamed the Football League First Division, and it became the second tier of English football.

Most successful clubs

  • Liverpool (18 titles)
  • Manchester United (13 titles)
  • Arsenal (13 titles)
  • Everton (9 titles)
  • Blackburn Rovers (7 titles)


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

  • Sirocco


    MIlwaukee, USA

    First Division
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia