Last updated : Monday, 27 November 2023


Gulldeildin is the top tier football league in the Faroe Islands. It was founded in 1942 and is currently contested by 10 teams. The winner of Gulldeildin qualifies for the UEFA Champions League qualifiers, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the 1. deild.


The first season of Gulldeildin was played in 1942, with HB Tórshavn winning the inaugural title. HB have won the most titles in Gulldeildin history, with 27 championships. Víkingur Gøta are the second most successful team, with 18 titles.

Gulldeildin action

Gulldeildin has been dominated by HB and Víkingur Gøta in recent years. HB have won the title five times in a row since 2017, while Víkingur Gøta won the title in 2021.

Current season

The current season of Gulldeildin is underway, with 10 teams competing. The standings after the first round of matches are as follows:

  • HB Tórshavn (3 points)
  • Víkingur Gøta (3 points)
  • KÍ Klaksvík (3 points)
  • B36 Tórshavn (3 points)
  • NSÍ Runavík (3 points)


Gulldeildin match

Featured Divisions

  • Gulldeildin A.ridill


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia