Last updated : Wednesday, 10 April 2024

Hugh Clark Memorial Cup

The Hugh Clark Memorial Cup football league was a defunct Canadian football league that existed from 1906 to 1910. The league was named after Hugh Clark, a former player for the University of Toronto and the Toronto Argonauts.

The league consisted of four teams: the Toronto Argonauts, the Hamilton Tigers, the Ottawa Rough Riders, and the Montreal Wanderers. The Argonauts won the league championship in all four years of its existence.


Hugh Clark Memorial Cup action

The Hugh Clark Memorial Cup was founded in 1906 by a group of businessmen in Toronto. The league was originally intended to be a way to promote amateur football in Canada.

The league's first season was a success, and the Argonauts won the championship. The league continued to grow in popularity in the following years, and the Wanderers won the championship in 1908.

Hugh Clark Memorial Cup match

However, the league began to decline in popularity in the early 1910s. This was due to a number of factors, including the First World War and the rise of professional football.

The Hugh Clark Memorial Cup folded after the 1910 season.


Hugh Clark Memorial Cup teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia