Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023


The Independent Football League is an amateur football league in the United States. It was founded in 1986 and is based in the San Francisco Bay Area. The league currently has 12 teams, all of which are based in California.


The Independent Football League was founded in 1986 by a group of players who were looking for an alternative to the more structured and competitive college and professional football leagues. The league was originally called the San Francisco Independent Football League, but it changed its name to the Independent Football League in 1999.

Independent action

The Independent Football League has grown steadily since its inception. The league currently has 12 teams, all of which are based in California. The teams play a 10-game regular season, followed by a playoff tournament.


The Independent Football League follows the standard rules of American football. However, there are a few minor differences. For example, the league uses a slightly smaller ball than the NFL.

Independent match

The Independent Football League also has a few unique rules. For example, the league does not allow blocking below the waist.



Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia