Last updated : Wednesday, 22 November 2023

Isthmian League

The Isthmian League is an amateur football league in England. It is the ninth tier of the English football league system and is divided into four divisions: Premier Division, South Central Division, North Division, and South East Division.

The league was founded in 1905 and is named after the ancient Isthmian Games, which were held in the Isthmus of Corinth. The league's motto is "honour sufficit", which means "honour is enough".


Isthmian League action

The Isthmian League was founded on 8 March 1905 at a meeting of representatives from 12 clubs in London and the Home Counties. The first season of the league consisted of just six clubs, but membership increased steadily over the years.

The league has been reorganized several times over the years. In 1977, the league was split into two divisions, the Isthmian League Premier Division and the Isthmian League First Division. In 2004, the league was further split into three divisions, the Isthmian League Premier Division, the Isthmian League Division One North, and the Isthmian League Division One South.

Isthmian League match

The Isthmian League has produced a number of professional footballers, including John Terry, Frank Lampard, and Ashley Cole.

Current Season

The current season of the Isthmian League began on 6 August 2023 and is scheduled to end on 29 April 2024. The defending champions are Enfield Town, who won the Premier Division title in 2022-23.

Isthmian League teams

The top two teams in each division are promoted to the next level, while the bottom two teams in each division are relegated to the next level.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Isthmian League teams come from

  • Herne Bay,
  • Horsham,
  • Ipswich,
  • Maldon,

and other areas within Essex, Kent, Suffolk, West Sussex.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia