Last updated : Wednesday, 21 February 2024

Leicester Sunday Football League

The Leicester Sunday Football League is an amateur football league based in Leicester, England. It was founded in 1921 and currently consists of 11 divisions, with over 200 teams competing. The league is affiliated to the Leicestershire FA.


The Leicester Sunday Football League was founded in 1921 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league initially consisted of just four divisions, but it has since grown to become one of the largest Sunday leagues in the country.

Leicester Sunday Football League action

The league has been home to some notable players over the years, including former Leicester City and England international Gary Lineker. Lineker played for the league side Blaby & Whetstone Wanderers in the early 1970s.


The Leicester Sunday Football League currently consists of the following divisions:

  • AB Window Cleaning Premier Division
  • The Stirrup Cup Division 1
  • Fish it Baits Division 2
  • The Plough East Goscote Division 3
  • Gayford Memorial Invitational Trophy
  • Hardings Transport Cup
  • J.D. Berrington Divisional Cup
  • Ryder Transport Cup
  • JD Thomas League Cup
  • Division 9
  • Division 10
  • Division 11


Leicester Sunday Football League match

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia