Last updated : Friday, 12 April 2024

Metropolitan Sunday Football League

The Metropolitan Sunday Football League (MSFL) is an amateur football league based in London, England. It was founded in 1922 and is currently the largest Sunday league in the UK, with over 500 teams competing in 20 divisions.


The MSFL was founded in 1922 by a group of football enthusiasts who wanted to provide a competitive Sunday league for amateur players. The league started with just 10 teams and has grown steadily over the years to become the largest Sunday league in the UK.

Metropolitan Sunday Football League action

The MSFL has a long and proud history, and has produced some of the best amateur footballers in the country. Former players of the MSFL include Gary Lineker, Alan Shearer, and David Beckham.


The MSFL is currently divided into 20 divisions, ranging from the Premier Division to Division 20. The Premier Division is the top division of the MSFL, and is home to some of the best amateur teams in the country.

Metropolitan Sunday Football League match

The MSFL also has a number of cup competitions, including the MSFL Cup, the MSFL Challenge Cup, and the MSFL Charity Shield.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Metropolitan Sunday Football League teams come from

  • Bromley,
  • Charlton,
  • Croydon,
  • Hither Green,
  • Lambeth,
  • London,
  • Orpington,

and other areas within Greater London.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia