Last updated : Tuesday, 21 November 2023

Mid Sussex Football League

The Mid Sussex Football League (MSFL) is an association football league formed in 1900. The league is headed by the Premier Division which is at level eleven of the English football league system and member clubs are based in East Sussex, West Sussex and south-eastern Surrey.

The MSFL currently has 13 divisions, with the Premier Division having 14 clubs. The other divisions are:

  • Championship (12 clubs)
  • Division 1 (14 clubs)
  • Division 2 North (12 clubs)
  • Division 2 South (12 clubs)
  • Division 3 North (12 clubs)
  • Division 3 South (12 clubs)
  • Division 4 North (12 clubs)
  • Division 4 South (12 clubs)
  • Division 5 North (12 clubs)
  • Division 5 South (12 clubs)
  • Division 6 (12 clubs)
  • Veterans East (10 clubs)
  • Veterans West (10 clubs)
Mid Sussex Football League action

The MSFL is affiliated with the Sussex County FA, the local governing body for football across Sussex. The league adheres to all FA competition rules.

The MSFL season runs from August to May, with each team playing each other twice, once at home and once away. The top two teams in the Premier Division are promoted to the Southern Combination Football League Division One, while the bottom two teams are relegated to Division 1.

Mid Sussex Football League match

The MSFL also runs a number of cup competitions, including the Allan Washer Memorial Trophy, the Brian Hall Trophy, and the Edgar German Cup.

The current champions of the MSFL Premier Division are Sidley United.

Mid Sussex Football League teams


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia