Last updated : Monday, 26 February 2024

NIBFA National League

The NIBFA National League (SBYL) is an amateur football league for boys and girls in Northern Ireland.

It was established in 2008 initially with 45 teams in 3 age groups. Since then, the league membership has grown and now offers 6 age groups from U12 to U18 with an annual membership of approximately 140 teams.


Nibfa National League action

The SBYL was founded by a group of volunteers who were passionate about providing opportunities for young people to play football. The league's first season was in 2008-09, and it has grown steadily ever since.

The SBYL is now one of the largest amateur football leagues in Northern Ireland. It is affiliated to the Irish Football Association (IFA), and its teams compete in the IFA's National Youth Cup.


Nibfa National League match

The SBYL is divided into two divisions, the Premier Division and the First Division. The top teams in the Premier Division qualify for the NIBFA Subway National Youth Cup, which is the premier cup competition in the league.

The SBYL also runs a number of other cup competitions, including the U12 Challenge Cup, the U14 Challenge Cup, and the U16 Challenge Cup.

Current Season

Nibfa National League teams

The current season of the SBYL is 2022-23. The Premier Division is currently being led by Linfield Swifts, while the First Division is being led by Glentoran Swifts.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Nibfa National League teams come from

  • ,
  • Belfast,
  • Dundonald,

and other areas within County Antrim, County Down.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia