Last updated : Monday, 18 September 2023

Northern Football Alliance

The Northern Football Alliance is an amateur football league based in the North East of England. It has four divisions, headed by the Premier Division, which sits at step 7 of the National League System.

The league was founded in 1890 as a single league, with a membership of seven teams. In 1926 it became the Second Division of the North Eastern League, but it split away again in 1935. It disbanded in 1964 due to lack of membership, but reformed just one season later, in 1965–66.

Northern Football Alliance action

In 1988 the Northern Amateur League and the Northern Combination League combined with the Northern Football Alliance (all under the name Northern Football Alliance) to create a three-division format, which later expanded to four. Under a sponsorship agreement it is billed as the Bay Plastics Northern Football Alliance.

Current Season

The current season, 2022–23, is the 133rd season of the Northern Football Alliance. The Premier Division is currently led by Newcastle Blue Star, with Prudhoe Youth Club in second place and Wallington in third.

Northern Football Alliance match

The top club in the Premier Division at the end of the season is eligible for promotion to the Northern League Division Two. The top clubs in the First, Second and Third Divisions are promoted to the Premier, First, and Second Divisions respectively.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

  • Whitburn Athletic FC

    Whitburn Athletic FC

    South Shields, United Kingdom

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia