Last updated : Friday, 24 November 2023

Scottish Women's Football League

The Scottish Women's Football League (SWPL) is the highest level of women's football league in Scotland. It is divided into two divisions: SWPL 1 and SWPL 2.


The SWPL was formed in 2002 when the Premier Division of the Scottish Women's Football League (SWFL) broke away to form a new league. The SWFL was founded in 1972 and was the first women's football league in Scotland.

Scottish Womens Football League action

The SWPL has grown in popularity in recent years and is now one of the most competitive women's football leagues in Europe. In the 2022-23 season, Glasgow City won the SWPL 1 title for the 15th time.


The SWPL 1 consists of 12 teams, while the SWPL 2 consists of 8 teams. Each team plays each other team twice, once at home and once away. The top two teams in SWPL 1 are promoted to the Scottish Women's Premier League Cup, while the bottom two teams are relegated to SWPL 2. The top two teams in SWPL 2 are promoted to SWPL 1, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the Scottish Women's Football Championship.



Scottish Womens Football League match

Featured Divisions

  • Scottish Womens Football League SWFL West

    SWFL West

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia