Last updated : Friday, 24 November 2023


The Second League is an amateur football league in England. It is the second tier of the English football league system, below the Premier League and above League One. The league is contested by 24 clubs, each of which plays the others twice, once at home and once away. The top two teams at the end of the season are promoted to the Premier League, while the bottom four teams are relegated to League One.

The Second League was founded in 1892 as the Football League Second Division. It was renamed the Championship in 2004. The current champions are Fulham, who won the title in the 2022-23 season.


Second League action

The Second League was founded in 1892 as the Football League Second Division. It was the second tier of the Football League, below the First Division. The league was originally contested by 12 teams, but this number has increased over the years. The current format of the league, with 24 teams, has been in place since 1992.

The Second League has been won by a variety of clubs over the years. The most successful clubs are Manchester City and Leicester City, who have both won the title seven times. Other notable winners include Nottingham Forest, Aston Villa, and Sunderland.

Promotion and relegation

Second League match

The top two teams in the Second League are automatically promoted to the Premier League at the end of the season. The bottom four teams are relegated to League One.

There is also a playoff system for the teams that finish third to sixth in the Second League. The winners of the playoff are also promoted to the Premier League.


Second League teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia