Last updated : Saturday, 09 December 2023

South Essex League

The South Essex League was an amateur football league that was held in Essex and East London. It was founded in 1892 and disbanded in 1989.


The South Essex League was founded in 1892. Only four clubs in the league managed to fulfill all their fixtures in the inaugural season, with Barking Excelsior winning the league and Grays Town finishing runners-up. The league was restarted in the 1895–96 season. Upon the reformation of the league in the 1895–96 season, Leyton were champions, with St Luke's placing second.

South Essex League action

The league reached its peak in the 1960s and 1970s, when it had over 100 member clubs. However, the league began to decline in the 1980s, and it disbanded at the end of the 1988–89 season.

Current status

The South Essex League is no longer in existence. However, there are a number of other amateur football leagues in Essex and East London, including the Essex Senior League, the Thurrock League, and the Romford & District League.


South Essex League match

Featured Divisions

  • South Essex League division 3

    division 3

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia