Last updated : Saturday, 02 December 2023

South Wales League

The South Wales League is an amateur football league in South Wales. It is currently the second tier of the Welsh football league system, below the Cymru Premier. The league was founded in 1891 and has been in continuous operation ever since.


The South Wales League was founded in 1891 by a group of clubs in South Wales. The inaugural season consisted of just six teams, but the league quickly grew in popularity and by the early 1900s it was one of the most competitive amateur leagues in the United Kingdom.

South Wales League action

The South Wales League was disbanded in 1911 due to financial difficulties caused by the First World War. However, the league was reformed in 1919 and has been in continuous operation ever since.

Current season

The current season of the South Wales League is the 2022-23 season. There are 16 teams competing in the league, which is divided into two divisions of eight teams. The top two teams from each division will be promoted to the Cymru Premier, while the bottom two teams from each division will be relegated to the Welsh Football League Division One.

South Wales League match

The current champions of the South Wales League are Briton Ferry Llansawel. They won the title in the 2021-22 season, finishing two points ahead of second-placed Afan Lido.



Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia