Last updated : Sunday, 03 December 2023

FA Women's National League

The FA Women's National League (WNL) is an amateur football league in England for women's teams. It is the third and fourth tiers of the women's football pyramid, below the FA Women's Super League and the Women's Championship.


The WNL was founded in 1991 as the WFA National League. It was renamed the FA Women's Premier League in 1997. In 2014, the league was rebranded as the FA Women's National League and restructured into two tiers, the Northern Premier Division and the Southern Premier Division.


The FA Women's National League action

The WNL currently has 71 clubs, divided into the two Premier Divisions and four regional Division Ones. The Premier Divisions are each played on a home-and-away basis, with each team playing each other twice. The top two teams in each Premier Division are promoted to the FA Women's Championship, while the bottom two teams are relegated to Division One.

The Division Ones are also played on a home-and-away basis, with each team playing each other once. The top team in each Division One is promoted to the corresponding Premier Division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the next level down.

Current season

The FA Women's National League match

The current season is the 2022-23 season. The Northern Premier Division is currently being led by Blackburn Rovers, while the Southern Premier Division is being led by Lewes.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

The FA Women's National League teams come from

  • Barnsley,
  • Chesham,
  • Dartford,
  • Durham,
  • Lewes,
  • Liverpool,
  • Loughborough,
  • Nottingham,
  • Sheffield,
  • Swindon,

and other areas within Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Kent, Leicestershire.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia