Last updated : Saturday, 09 December 2023

Halifax Sunday Football League

The Halifax Sunday Football League is an amateur football league based in the Calder Valley area of West Yorkshire, England. It was founded in 1922 and currently consists of 60 teams competing in 10 divisions.


The Halifax Sunday Football League was founded in 1922 by a group of local enthusiasts. The league initially consisted of just four teams, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has over 60 teams competing.

The Halifax Sunday Football League action

The league has been home to some notable players over the years, including former professional footballers such as Peter Beardsley and Paul Jewell.


The Halifax Sunday Football League is divided into 10 divisions, each of which contains 6 teams. The top two teams in each division are promoted at the end of the season, while the bottom two teams are relegated.

The Halifax Sunday Football League match

The league also has a cup competition, the Halifax Sunday Cup. The cup competition is open to all teams in the league and is played on a knockout basis.

Current season

The current season is the 99th season of the Halifax Sunday Football League. The league champions are Halifax United FC, who won the title in the 2021-22 season. The runners-up were Hollins Holme First.


The Halifax Sunday Football League teams

Featured Divisions

  • The Halifax Sunday Football League Premier


    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia