Last updated : Tuesday, 02 April 2024


The Tippeligaen is the top division of Norwegian football. It is contested by 16 teams, and the season runs from April to November. The current champions are Molde FK.


The Tippeligaen was founded in 1963, and was originally called the 1. divisjon. The name was changed to the Tippeligaen in 1990, after a sponsorship deal with the Norwegian betting company Norsk Tipping.

Tippeligaen action

The Tippeligaen has been won by 22 different clubs. The most successful club is Rosenborg BK, who have won the title 26 times. Other notable winners include Viking FK, Molde FK, and Fredrikstad FK.

Current season

The current season of the Tippeligaen started on April 2, 2023, and is scheduled to end on November 11, 2023. The current standings are as follows:

  • Molde FK (1st)
  • Rosenborg BK (2nd)
  • Viking FK (3rd)
  • Sandefjord Fotball (4th)
  • Odd Grenland (5th)
The top two teams at the end of the season will qualify for the UEFA Champions League, while the third-placed team will qualify for the UEFA Europa Conference League. The bottom two teams will be relegated to the 1. divisjon.


Tippeligaen match

Featured Teams

  • Brann


    bergen, Norway

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia