Last updated : Friday, 07 June 2024

Wakefield & District Sunday League

The Wakefield & District Sunday League is an amateur football league based in Wakefield, West Yorkshire, England. It was founded in 1921 and currently has over 100 teams competing in 10 divisions.


The Wakefield & District Sunday League was founded in 1921 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league initially had just four divisions, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has over 100 teams competing in 10 divisions.

Wakefield & District Sunday League action

The league has been home to some talented players over the years, including former England internationals Peter Shilton and David Platt. In recent years, the league has also been used as a breeding ground for young talent, with a number of players who have gone on to play professional football having started their careers in the Wakefield & District Sunday League.

Current season

The current season of the Wakefield & District Sunday League is the 2022-2023 season. The league is sponsored by The Navigation Tavern FC.

Wakefield & District Sunday League match

The current champions are Mount Pleasant, who won the Championship 1 title in the 2021-2022 season. The current holders of the President's Trophy are Dale Club FC.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Wakefield & District Sunday League teams come from

  • Dewsbury,
  • Ryhill,
  • Wakefield,

and other areas within Kirklees, West Yorkshire.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia