Last updated : Monday, 02 October 2023

Ashford District Sunday Football League

The Ashford District Sunday Football League is an amateur football league based in Ashford, Kent, England. It was founded in 1960 and currently consists of four divisions, with a total of 40 clubs.


The league was founded in 1960 with just one division of 12 teams. The inaugural champions were Newtown Ramblers FC. The league has since grown to four divisions, and is now regarded as one of the strongest competitions in Kent grassroots football.

Ashford Districtsunday League action

The most successful club in the league's history is Market Hotel, who have won the title 12 times. Other notable winners include Ashford Dynamo FC (10 times), Tenterden Town FC (7 times), and Mersham Sports Club (6 times).

Current season

The 2023-24 season is the 64th season of the Ashford District Sunday Football League. The Premier Division is currently led by Aldington FC, who have won all of their opening three games. Other top teams include Troggs FC, Egerton FC, and Lydd Town Sunday FC.

Cup competitions

Ashford Districtsunday League match

The Ashford District Sunday Football League also runs six cup competitions, which are played alongside the league. These are the Bodkin Cup, Sheber Trophy, Ashford Sunday Charity Trophy, Kent Sunday Cup, Ashford Sunday Challenge Cup, and Ashford Sunday Veterans Cup.

The Bodkin Cup is the most prestigious cup competition in the league, and is contested by the top four teams from each division. The Sheber Trophy is the second-tier cup competition, and is contested by the bottom four teams from each division.


Ashford Districtsunday League teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia