Last updated : Thursday, 30 November 2023

Bucs Prem

The Bucs Prem is the top division of the BUCS Football League, the association football league system of British Universities and Colleges Sport (BUCS). It is the largest sport in UK higher education, with over 450 men's and women's teams competing in 100 leagues.


The Bucs Prem is a league system, with teams playing each other home and away. The top four teams at the end of the season are promoted to the BUCS National Championship, while the bottom four teams are relegated to the Bucs Tier 1.


Bucs Prem action

The Bucs Prem follows the standard BUCS rules and regulations. These include a maximum of three substitutions per team per match, a ban on professional players, and a requirement for all players to be registered with their university or college.


The Bucs Prem season runs from September to April. The regular season consists of 18 matches, with each team playing each other once. The top four teams at the end of the regular season qualify for the playoffs, with the winner being crowned champions.

Recent champions

  • 2022-23: University of Bath
  • 2021-22: University of Nottingham
  • 2020-21: University of Birmingham
  • 2019-20: University of Manchester
  • 2018-19: University of Exeter


Bucs Prem match

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia