Last updated : Monday, 01 April 2024


The Bundesliga is the top level of the German football league system. It is a professional league, but there is also an amateur football league called the Regionalliga. The Regionalliga is divided into five regional divisions: North, Northeast, East, West, and South.


The Regionalliga was founded in 1963, the same year as the Bundesliga. It was originally intended to be the second level of the German league system, but it was demoted to the third level in 1974 when the 2. Bundesliga was created.

Bundesliga action

The Regionalliga has been restructured several times over the years. In 1994, the divisions were renamed to Regionalliga Nord, Regionalliga Nordost, Regionalliga West, and Regionalliga Süd. In 2008, the divisions were again renamed to Regionalliga Nord, Regionalliga Nordost, Regionalliga West/Südwest, and Regionalliga Bayern.

Current Format

The current format of the Regionalliga was introduced in 2012. Each division has 18 teams, and the top two teams in each division are promoted to the 3. Liga. The bottom four teams in each division are relegated to the Oberliga.


Bundesliga match

The following teams are currently playing in the Regionalliga:


Featured Teams

Bundesliga teams come from

  • Athens,
  • Gelsenkirchen,
  • Hamburg,

and other areas within , Nomarchía Athínas.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia