Last updated : Saturday, 18 May 2024

Campeonato Brasileiro

The Campeonato Brasileiro is the top professional football league in Brazil. It is organized by the Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF). The league was founded in 1971 and is currently contested by 20 teams.


The Campeonato Brasileiro was founded in 1971 as a replacement for the Torneio Roberto Gomes Pedrosa, which had been the top football league in Brazil since 1967. The first season of the Campeonato Brasileiro was won by Santos, who defeated Botafogo in the final.

Campeonato Brasileiro action

The Campeonato Brasileiro has been won by 20 different teams since its inception. The most successful team is Flamengo, who have won the title 7 times. Other successful teams include Corinthians, Palmeiras, and São Paulo, who have all won the title 6 times.


The Campeonato Brasileiro is played in a double round-robin format. Each team plays each other team twice, once at home and once away. The top 4 teams at the end of the regular season qualify for the Copa Libertadores, the top South American club competition. The bottom 4 teams are relegated to the Série B.

Current Season

Campeonato Brasileiro match

The current season of the Campeonato Brasileiro is the 2023 season. The season began on April 29, 2023 and is scheduled to end on December 11, 2023. The current champions are Atlético Mineiro, who won the title in 2022.


Featured Divisions

  • Campeonato Brasileiro Série B

    Série B

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

  • Gremio


    Porto Alegre, Brazil

    Série B
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia