Last updated : Friday, 01 December 2023


The Canterbury Sundays is an amateur football league based in Christchurch, New Zealand. It was founded in 1907 and currently has 20 teams competing in its four divisions.

The league is affiliated with the Mainland Football Association and follows its rules and regulations. The season runs from March to September, with each team playing each other once in a round-robin format. The top two teams in each division at the end of the season are promoted to the next division, while the bottom two teams are relegated to the lower division.

The Canterbury Sundays is a popular league with a strong community spirit. It is a great way for players of all abilities to enjoy the game of football.


The Canterbury Sundays was founded in 1907 by a group of amateur footballers in Christchurch. The league initially had just six teams, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has 20 teams. The league has been home to some talented players over the years, including former New Zealand internationals Shane Rufer and Ryan Nelsen. The Canterbury Sundays has also produced a number of other professional footballers, including Craig Henderson, Michael McGlinchey, and Andrew Durante.

Current Season

The current season of the Canterbury Sundays began in March 2023 and is scheduled to end in September 2023. The teams competing in the Premier Division are: * Addington AFC * Cashmere Technical * Christchurch United * Combine Brothers * FC Twenty11 * Halswell United * Papanui AFC * Riccarton Red Sox * Selwyn United * Southern United * Western AFC The teams competing in Division 1 are: * Cashmere Technical Reserves * FC Twenty11 Reserves * Halswell United Reserves * Papanui AFC Reserves * Riccarton Red Sox Reserves * Selwyn United Reserves * Southern United Reserves * Western AFC Reserves The teams competing in Division 2 are: * Addington AFC Reserves * Combine Brothers Reserves * Christchurch United Reserves * Halswell United Masters * Riccarton Red Sox Masters * Selwyn United Masters * Southern United Masters * Western AFC Masters The teams competing in Division 3 are: * Addington AFC Masters * Combine Brothers Masters * Christchurch United Masters * Halswell United Over 35s * Papanui AFC Over 35s * Riccarton Red Sox Over 35s * Selwyn United Over 35s * Southern United Over 35s


* [Canterbury Sundays Soccer League]( * [The Canterbury & District Football League 1907]( * [Canterbury & District Football League 1907]( Canterbury Sundays action

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia