Last updated : Friday, 24 November 2023

Cat 3 Football League

Cat 3 is an amateur football league in the United Kingdom. It is the third tier of the English football league system, below EFL League Two and above the Northern Premier League Premier Division.

The league was founded in 1986 and currently consists of 24 clubs. The clubs are divided into two divisions, North and South. The champions of each division are promoted to EFL League Two, while the bottom two clubs in each division are relegated to the Northern Premier League Premier Division.


Cat 3 action

Cat 3 was founded in 1986 as the Conference National. It was renamed to the National League in 2004.

The league has been won by a variety of clubs, including Macclesfield Town, Lincoln City, and Forest Green Rovers.

Current Clubs


Cat 3 match

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia