Last updated : Monday, 26 February 2024

Central Football

The Central Football league is an amateur football league competition for clubs in the Central Belt of Scotland. It was formed in 1927 and is sponsored by Foster's Lager. The association is affiliated to the Scottish Amateur Football Association.


The Central Scottish AFL is split into two divisions, a Premier Division of 12 teams and a 24-strong Division One (split into Division 1A and 1B). The bottom two teams from the Premier League are automatically relegated to Division 1, being replaced by the winners of each of the two sections, and the team which finishes 3rd from bottom is entered into a round-robin playoff with the two teams who finished second in each of Division 1A and Division 1B - the winner secures a place in the Premier Division. Division One sections are determined by a draw at the association's Annual General Meeting.

Current season

Central Football action

The current season is the 96th season of the Central Scottish AFL. The Premier Division is currently led by Linlithgow Rose, who have won the title 10 times. The current holders of the John Smiths Inter League Trophy are the Central Scottish AFL.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

  • Massey University

    Massey University

    Palmerston North, New Zealand

    Lotto Federation League
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia