Last updated : Friday, 24 November 2023


Championship Hounor is an amateur football league in the United Kingdom. It is the second tier of the English football league system, below the Premier League and above League One.

The league was founded in 1992 as the Football League First Division, and was renamed the Championship in 2004. It currently consists of 24 teams, which play each other twice, home and away, in a 46-game season.

Championship Hounor action

The top two teams in the Championship are automatically promoted to the Premier League, while the third-placed team goes into a playoff with the fourth-placed team and the winners of the two League One playoff semi-finals.

The bottom three teams in the Championship are relegated to League One.


Championship Hounor match

The Championship was founded in 1992 as the Football League First Division, following the breakaway of the top 22 clubs from the Football League First Division. The league was initially sponsored by Carling, and was called the Carling Premiership.

In 2004, the league was renamed the Championship, and the sponsorship deal with Carling was terminated. The league is currently sponsored by Sky Bet.

Current teams


Championship Hounor teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia