Last updated : Friday, 05 April 2024

Down Area Winter League

The Down Area Winter League (DAWFL) is an amateur football league in County Down, Northern Ireland. It was founded in 1979 and currently has over 50 clubs affiliated to it. The league runs a winter season from October to March, with teams competing in a variety of divisions.


The DAWFL was founded in 1979 by a group of football enthusiasts in the Downpatrick area. The league started with just 10 teams, but it has since grown to over 50 clubs. The DAWFL is now one of the largest amateur football leagues in Northern Ireland.

Down Area Winter League action

The DAWFL has a number of different divisions, with teams being promoted and relegated each season. The top division is the Premier Division, followed by the First Division, Second Division, and Third Division. There are also a number of cup competitions, including the Tommy Memorial Shield and the DAWFL Cup.

Current Season

The current season of the DAWFL is the 2022/23 season. The Premier Division is currently being led by Willowfield Parish 10th Old Boys FC, with Comber Star FC in second place and Newtownards RBL FC in third place.

Down Area Winter League match

The other divisions of the DAWFL are also very competitive. In the First Division, Ballygowan FC is currently in first place, followed by Bangor Swifts II FC and Berkshire International FC. In the Second Division, Ards Arena FC is in first place, followed by Ballycam Celtic FC and Marino Swifts FC.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia