Last updated : Saturday, 30 March 2024

Durham District Sunday League

The Durham District Sunday League is an amateur football league in County Durham, England. It was founded in 1921 and is currently the largest Sunday league in the county, with over 100 teams competing in various divisions.

The league is named after two of its founding members, Swinburne College and Maddison Road. The league's headquarters are located at the Gateshead Sports Centre.



Durham District Sunday League action

The league's rules are based on the rules of the Football Association. The main differences are that the league is played on Sundays, and that there is no promotion or relegation between divisions.

The league also has a number of its own rules, such as a maximum of three substitutes per team.


Durham District Sunday League match

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia