Last updated : Sunday, 31 March 2024


The English Football League Two, also known as League Two, is the fourth tier of the English football league system. It is contested by 24 clubs, each of whom plays 46 matches during the regular season. The top two teams are promoted to League One, while the bottom four teams are relegated to National League.


The league was founded in 2004 as Football League Two, replacing the Football League Third Division. The current name was adopted in 2010, following a sponsorship deal with Sky Bet.

EFL League Two action

The most successful team in League Two history is Carlisle United, who have won the title four times. Other notable winners include Bradford City, Port Vale, and Wycombe Wanderers.

Current season

The current season of League Two began on 6 August 2023 and is scheduled to end on 30 April 2024. The current table is as follows:

  • Bradford City
  • Grimsby Town
  • Accrington Stanley
  • Mansfield Town
  • AFC Wimbledon
  • Stockport County
  • Colchester United
  • Tranmere Rovers
  • Crawley Town
  • Newport County
The top two teams at the end of the season will be promoted to League One, while the bottom four teams will be relegated to National League.


EFL League Two match

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia