Last updated : Monday, 19 February 2024

Essex Combinations League

The Essex Combinations League is an amateur football league based in Essex, England. It is the oldest Sunday league still in existence, having been founded in 1937.

The league currently has 12 divisions, with teams from across Essex competing. The top division is the Premier Division, followed by Division One, Division Two, and so on.

Essex Combinations League action

The league season runs from September to May, with each team playing each other twice. The top teams in each division are promoted to the next division, while the bottom teams are relegated to the next lower division.


The Essex Combinations League was founded in 1937 by a group of local football enthusiasts. The league was initially made up of 10 teams, and the first season was won by Leytonstone.

Essex Combinations League match

The league has grown steadily over the years, and now has over 100 teams competing. The league has also been successful in developing young players, with many former players going on to play professional football.

Recent seasons

The 2021-22 season was won by Daglanta, who finished top of the Premier Division. The other promoted teams were FC Leytonstone and Global (S).

Essex Combinations League teams

The 2022-23 season is currently underway, and the current leaders of the Premier Division are Daglanta.


Featured Divisions

Featured Teams



    London, United Kingdom

    Division Two
    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia