Last updated : Saturday, 18 November 2023

Essex Premier Division

The Essex Premier Division is an amateur football league in Essex, England. It is the top division of the Essex Senior Football League, which is at Step 7 of the English football league system. The league currently consists of 20 clubs.


The Essex Premier Division was founded in 1939 as the South Essex League Combination. It was renamed the Essex Senior League in 1946. The league has been expanded several times over the years, and the current format was adopted in 2018.

Current season

Essex Premier Division action

The current season is the 2022-23 season. The defending champions are Sporting Bengal United. The current top scorers are Jack Midson of Heybridge Swifts and Jordan Smith of Great Wakering Rovers, with 16 goals each.

Promotion and relegation

The top two teams in the Essex Premier Division are promoted to the Isthmian League Division One North. The bottom two teams are relegated to the Essex Senior League Division One.


Essex Premier Division match

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia