Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023

Football League Championship

The Football League Championship is the second-highest division of the English football league system, after the Premier League. It is currently contested by 24 clubs, and is played on a system of promotion and relegation with League One.

The Championship is also known as the Sky Bet Championship due to sponsorship reasons. The current champions are Burnley, who won the 2022–23 season.


Football League Championship action

The Football League Championship was formed in 1992, when the Football League First Division was renamed. The first season of the Championship was won by Queens Park Rangers.

The Championship has been won by a variety of clubs over the years, including Nottingham Forest, Aston Villa, and West Bromwich Albion.

Promotion and relegation

Football League Championship match

The top two teams in the Championship are automatically promoted to the Premier League at the end of each season. The clubs finishing third to sixth in the Championship enter the play-offs, with the winner of the play-offs also being promoted to the Premier League.

The bottom three teams in the Championship are automatically relegated to League One. The clubs finishing 18th and 19th in the Championship enter the play-offs, with the winner of the play-offs being given a chance to stay in the Championship.


Football League Championship teams

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia