Last updated : Sunday, 19 May 2024

Gaynor Cup

The Gaynor Cup is an annual American football competition for women's high school teams in the United States. It is named after Judy Gaynor, a pioneer of women's football.


The Gaynor Cup was founded in 1999 by the Women's Football Alliance (WFA). The first tournament was held in 2000 and was won by the Long Island Sharks.

Gaynor Cup action

The Gaynor Cup has grown in popularity over the years and now attracts over 100 teams from across the country. The tournament is divided into four divisions: Junior Varsity, Varsity, Junior College, and College.


The Gaynor Cup follows the rules of the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA). The games are played on a regulation-sized football field with 11 players on each team.

Gaynor Cup match

The only major difference between the Gaynor Cup and the men's game is that there is no kickoff. Instead, the team that wins the coin toss has the option of receiving the ball or defering to the second half.


The Gaynor Cup is held at various locations around the country. The 2023 tournament will be held in Orlando, Florida.


Gaynor Cup teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia