Last updated : Friday, 17 November 2023

I Zingari Amateur Football League

The I Zingari Amateur Football League was an amateur association football competition based in Liverpool, England. It was founded in 1895 and ran until 2006, when it merged with the Liverpool County Combination to form the new Liverpool County Premier League.

The league's name means "the gypsies" in dialecticised Italian, and I Zingari was the name of an English amateur cricket club formed in 1845, and an Australian one formed 40 years later. The Liverpool football league's name invokes their spirit of amateur competition.


Izingari action

The I Zingari League was founded in 1895 by a group of amateur footballers who wanted to create a competitive league for players who were not able to commit to full-time professional football. The league initially had just three teams, but it quickly grew in popularity and by the 1920s it had over 20 teams competing in it.

The league was a feeder to the North West Counties League, and many players who went on to play professional football started their careers in the I Zingari League. Some of the most notable players to have played in the league include:

  • Billy Liddell (Liverpool)
  • Ian St John (Liverpool)
  • Kevin Keegan (Fulham, Liverpool, Newcastle United)
  • Graeme Souness (Liverpool, Rangers)
  • John Barnes (Liverpool, Newcastle United)
Izingari match

The I Zingari League was disbanded in 2006 after it merged with the Liverpool County Combination to form the new Liverpool County Premier League. The decision to merge was made in order to create a more competitive league for amateur footballers in the Liverpool area.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia