Last updated : Monday, 01 April 2024

What is League 2?

League Two is the fourth tier of the English football league system, and the division at the bottom of the English Football League (EFL). It is also known as EFL League Two.

There are 24 clubs in League Two, and they play each other twice in a season, once at home and once away. The top two clubs at the end of the season are promoted to League One, and the bottom four clubs are relegated to National League.

League 2 action

The current champions of League Two are Forest Green Rovers, who won the title in the 2022-23 season.

History of League 2

League Two was created in 2004, when the Football League was restructured. It replaced the old Third Division, which had been the fourth tier of the English football league system since 1920.

League 2 match

The first season of League Two was in 2004-05, and the inaugural champions were Wycombe Wanderers.

The most successful club in League Two history is Port Vale, who have won the title on three occasions.

Promotion and relegation

League 2 teams

The top two clubs in League Two are automatically promoted to League One at the end of the season. The third-placed club goes into a play-off with the fourth-placed club from League One, and the winner of that play-off also goes up to League One.

The bottom four clubs in League Two are relegated to National League at the end of the season.


League 2 coaches

Featured Divisions

  • League 2 League 2

    League 2

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia