Last updated : Saturday, 25 November 2023

Northern Amateur Football League

The Northern Amateur Football League (NAFL) is an association football league in Northern Ireland. It contains 13 divisions, from the Premier Division to Division 3F.

The NAFL was founded in 1923 and is the largest football league in Northern Ireland. The current champions are Rathfriland Rangers.


NAFL action

The NAFL was founded in 1923 by a group of clubs who wanted to provide a competitive football league for amateur players. The league initially consisted of 10 clubs, but it has since expanded to include over 100 clubs.

The NAFL has been home to some of the best amateur footballers in Northern Ireland, including George Best, who played for Cregagh Rangers in the 1960s.

Current Structure

NAFL match

The NAFL is divided into 13 divisions, from the Premier Division to Division 3F. The Premier Division is the top division and is followed by the First Division, Second Division, and Third Division.

The bottom four divisions are known as the Junior Grade. The Junior Grade is further divided into three sections: 2A, 2B, and 2C.

Domestic Cups

NAFL teams

The NAFL also hosts two domestic cups: the Irish Cup and the IFA Intermediate Cup. The Irish Cup is the oldest football competition in Northern Ireland and is open to all clubs in the country. The IFA Intermediate Cup is open to clubs in the NAFL and the Intermediate League.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia