Last updated : Friday, 12 April 2024


The National League is the top tier of non-League football in England. It is a nationwide division of 24 clubs, and is the lowest level with a single nationwide league.

The league is also known as "step 1" of the National League System (NLS), which is a set of leagues that run from level 5 to level 10 of the English football league system.

national action

The National League was founded in 2004, following the merger of the Football Conference and the Isthmian League Premier Division.

Season structure

The National League season runs from August to May. Each club plays each other club twice, once at home and once away.

national match

The top two clubs at the end of the season are promoted to League Two, the fourth tier of the English football league system. The bottom four clubs are relegated to the National League North or National League South, the two divisions below the National League.

Current season

The current season of the National League is the 2022-23 season. The current champions are Stockport County.


national teams

Featured Divisions

  • national nfc east

    nfc east

    1 team
    View Fixtures, Results & League Table

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia