Last updated : Sunday, 07 April 2024

North East Wales Football League

The North East Wales Football League (NEWFL) is an amateur football league in North East Wales, Wales. It represents the North East Wales area at the fourth and fifth tiers of the Welsh football league system.

The league was established in 2020 as a successor to the North East Wales League following a reorganisation of the Welsh football pyramid. The league has two divisions: the Premier Division at Tier 4, which offers a promotion route to the Tier 3 Ardal Leagues, and the League Championship at Tier 5.


North East Wales action

The league was established in 2020. After the member clubs for the first season were announced, the list was amended before the season was due to commence due to clubs folding and moving divisions. The proposed inaugural season was abandoned due to the Coronavirus pandemic. It was eventually launched in July 2021 for the 2021–22 season with some changes to the list of participating teams.

The current champions of the Premier Division are Brickfield Rangers FC. The current champions of the League Championship are Llay Welfare FC.


North East Wales match

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia