Last updated : Friday, 24 November 2023

North West League

The North West League is an amateur football league in the North West of England. It is currently in its 122nd season, and consists of 22 clubs playing in a single division. The league is affiliated to the Football Association, and is ranked as the ninth tier of the English football league system.


The North West League was founded in 1892, and was originally known as the Lancashire and Cheshire Amateur League. The league changed its name to the North West Counties Football League in 1989.

North West League action

The league has been won by a total of 44 clubs, with Chorley being the most successful team, having won the title 13 times. Other notable winners include Stalybridge Celtic, Macclesfield Town, and Fleetwood Town.

Current season

The current season of the North West League began in August 2022, and is scheduled to end in May 2023. The defending champions are AFC Darwen.

North West League match

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia