Last updated : Wednesday, 28 February 2024

Northern Youth Alliance

The Northern Youth Alliance (NWYA) is an amateur football league in the North West of England. It was founded in 1996 and currently has over 100 member clubs. The league caters for players aged 16-18 and is divided into four divisions: Premier Division, Division One, Division Two, and Development Division.


The NWYA was founded in 1996 by a group of football enthusiasts who wanted to provide a competitive and enjoyable environment for young players in the North West of England. The league quickly grew in popularity and now has over 100 member clubs.

Northern Youth Alliance action

The NWYA has a strong commitment to developing young players. The league works closely with professional clubs in the region to provide opportunities for players to progress to the professional game. The NWYA also runs a number of development programs for players of all abilities.

Current Season

The 2023-24 season is currently underway. The Premier Division is being led by Accrington Stanley, with AFC Fylde and Altrincham AFC close behind. In Division One, Burscough FC are top of the table, followed by Chester FC and Curzon Ashton FC.

Northern Youth Alliance match

The NWYA season culminates in the annual play-offs, which are held in May. The play-offs decide the champions of each division and the teams that will be promoted or relegated.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia