Last updated : Saturday, 06 April 2024


The Penang Amateur Football League (PAFL) is an amateur football league in Penang, Malaysia. It was founded in 1921 and is the oldest football league in the state.

The PAFL has a total of 12 clubs, divided into two divisions. The top division is called the Premier League, while the second division is called the Division One.

Penang action

The PAFL season runs from March to October. The Premier League champions qualify to play in the Malaysia FAM League, the third tier of Malaysian football.


The PAFL was founded in 1921 by a group of British expatriates. The first season was won by the Penang Cricket Club.

Penang match

The PAFL has been dominated by a few clubs over the years. The most successful club is the Penang FA, which has won the league 28 times.

The PAFL has also produced some of Malaysia's top footballers, including Mokhtar Dahari and Lim Teong Kim.

Current Season

Penang teams

The current PAFL season is the 92nd season. The Premier League is being led by the Penang FA, while the Division One is being led by the Air Force Sports Club.

The season is scheduled to end in October 2023.


Penang coaches

Featured Teams

  • nbyn


    penang, Malaysia

    View Team Details

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia