Last updated : Monday, 26 February 2024


The Premiership is an amateur football league in England. It is the highest level of amateur football in the country, and is administered by the Football Association.

The Premiership consists of 20 teams, which are divided into two divisions of 10 teams each. The teams play each other home and away, and the top two teams in each division at the end of the season are promoted to the National League North or South. The bottom two teams in each division are relegated to the Isthmian League Premier Division.

Premiership action

The Premiership was founded in 1977, and has been won by a total of 14 clubs. The current champions are Farnborough Town.


The Premiership was founded in 1977, as the Southern Football League Premier Division. It was renamed the Isthmian League Premier Division in 1986, and the National League South in 2004. The league was renamed the Premiership in 2023.

Premiership match

The first champions of the league were Wimbledon, who won the title in 1977-78. The most successful club in the history of the league is Farnborough Town, who have won the title six times.

Current season

The current season of the Premiership is the 2023-24 season. The teams competing in the league this season are:

  • Basingstoke Town
  • Billericay Town
  • Chesham United
  • Dover Athletic
  • Eastbourne Borough
  • Ebbsfleet United
  • Farnborough Town
  • Havant & Waterlooville
  • Maidenhead United
  • Metropolitan Police
  • Poole Town
  • Sutton United
  • Woking
  • Yeovil Town


Premiership teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia