Last updated : Friday, 01 December 2023


The South Eastern League (SAL) is an association football league in England affiliated to the Amateur Football Alliance (AFA). It is based in and around Greater London and caters for 11–a–side men's adult teams.

A feature of the league is 'multi-team football', common in AFA leagues, with clubs fielding an average of 4-5 teams each. For season 2021–22 the league has 40 open aged member clubs and a handful of veterans-only clubs running around 190 teams in 21 divisions. All clubs are strictly amateur.

South Eastern League action

The SAL is the highest amateur football league in London, and is ranked 11th in the National League System (NLS). The league champions are promoted to the Isthmian League Division One North or South, depending on their geographical location.


The SAL was founded in 1921 as the London & South Eastern League. The league's name was changed to the Southern Amateur League in 1974.

South Eastern League match

The SAL has been won by a number of clubs over the years, including Dulwich Hamlet, Corinthian-Casuals, and Tooting & Mitcham United.

Current season

The current season of the SAL is the 2022–23 season. The league champions are currently AFC Oldsmiths.

South Eastern League teams

The SAL is divided into 21 divisions, each of which has 10 teams. The top four teams in each division are promoted to the next higher division, while the bottom four teams are relegated to the next lower division.


Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia