Last updated : Friday, 12 April 2024

Southern Sunday Football League

The Southern Sunday Football League (SSFL) is an amateur football league in England for teams from the south of England. It was founded in 1921 and is currently divided into 10 divisions, with each division containing 12 teams.

The SSFL is a member of the Amateur Football Alliance (AFA), which is the umbrella body for amateur football in England. The AFA organises a number of other amateur football leagues, including the Combined Counties League, the Isthmian League, and the Northern Premier League.


Southern Sunday Football League action

The SSFL was founded in 1921 by a group of football enthusiasts in the south of England. The league started with just a few teams, but it has grown steadily over the years and now has over 200 teams competing.

The SSFL has been home to some of the best amateur footballers in England over the years. Former England internationals such as Paul Scholes, Gary Neville, and David Beckham all played in the SSFL at some point in their careers.

Current Season

Southern Sunday Football League match

The current season of the SSFL is the 2022-2023 season. The season started in September 2022 and is scheduled to end in May 2023.

The current champions of the SSFL are AFC Putney. They won the league title in the 2021-2022 season.


Southern Sunday Football League teams

Featured Divisions

Featured Teams

Southern Sunday Football League teams come from

  • ,
  • Barnes,
  • City of London,
  • Clapham Common,
  • Clapham,
  • London Borough of Wandsworth,
  • London,
  • Morden,
  • Putney,
  • Tamworth,
  • Tolworth,
  • Wandsworth,
  • Wimbledon,

and other areas within Greater London, Staffordshire.

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia