Last updated : Monday, 20 November 2023


The Welsh League is an amateur football league in Wales. It is the fifth tier of the Welsh football pyramid, below the Cymru Premier, Ardal Leagues, Cymru Alliance, and Cymru North and South.

The league was founded in 1946 as the South Wales Amateur League. It was renamed the Welsh League in 2015 after merging with the South Wales Senior League.

The Welsh League action

The league consists of two divisions, Division One and Division Two. There are 16 teams in Division One and 14 teams in Division Two.



The Welsh League season runs from August to May. Each team plays each other team twice, once at home and once away.

The Welsh League match

The top two teams in Division One are promoted to the Ardal Leagues. The bottom two teams in Division One are relegated to Division Two.

The top two teams in Division Two are promoted to Division One. The bottom two teams in Division Two are relegated to local leagues.


The Welsh League teams

Featured Teams

Are you looking for something ? Search the TeamStats directory...

Team management made easy

Football team organiser? TeamStats is the ultimate football coach app, providing powerful all-in-one software to grassroots football teams around the world.

Learn more
Used around the world by clubs and teams from:
  • The FA Logo - English Football Association
  • Northern Ireland FA Logo
  • Scottish FA logo
  • United States Soccer Logo
  • Welsh FA Logo
  • Eire Football Association Logo
  • Czech Republic Football Association Logo
  • Singapore Football Association Logo
  • Australia FFA logo - Football Federation Australia